December Wine of the Month (J. Lohr)

My love of wine probably started with my dad! He loves wine and was always bringing home amazing bottles for us to share at dinner & now it’s just become part of my lifestyle. There is something sinfully enjoyable and indulgent about having a nice glass of red wine at the end of a long day with a great home cooked meal. My husband will often greet me at the door with a glass of Cabernet when he knows I’ve had a long day 😉 What a great guy!
In fact, my love of wine was the inspiration behind my husband’s proposal to me back in July 2009. He arranged to take me to Peller Estates Winery in Niagara for a custom made lunch with wine pairings and then for a wine tour through the vineyard and the cellars. It was beautiful! At the end of the tour he took me back out to the vineyard to propose. Yes, it was pretty amazing!

Then this past year, for my 30th Birthday, my husband took me back to Niagara to the famous Pillar and Post Hotel and Spa . While there we also did a wine bike tour (sounds fun, right?)! It was yet another great wine experience 😉
I have to say that I am a bit of a wine snob in that I won’t just drink any wine for the sake of drinking. I need it to taste great and be smooth. I actually know when a wine is cheap because I usually get a headache right after 😦 I am definitely by no means a wine connoisseur, just someone who really enjoys it and enjoys to try different kinds and learn more about it.
If I had to choose, I would have to say that my first love is a great Cabernet from California and second to that would be a fabulous Italian wine (I had many of these in my travels this past year on my honeymoon). As part of this blog, I am going to feature one of my favorite wines per month. This should be fun!
WINE OF THE MONTH: J. Lohr Estates Seven Oaks Cabernet Sauvignon
This wine will remain in my favorite wine list for years to come. I think my dad already knows what is waiting for him under the Christmas tree this year (he’s a big fan too!) 😉 You can locate this wine in the Vintages section of your local LCBO.
Winemaker’s Comments (www.jlohr.com)
A bouyant red-purple color with bright hues. Generous aromas of black cherry, black currant and plum fruit, complemented by vanilla, tar and toasty notes from the twelve to fourteen months in barrel. On the palate, the fruit flavors echo the aroma, complexed with blackberry and a plump, softly texture mouthfeel and finish.

QUICK TIP: Check out your local LCBO for wines that are on special. This is how I try different kinds & save a few bucks too! Check out Staff Picks as well because you’ll get the chance to try a wine that you may not have considered but that comes with high recommendations. Worth a try!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to December Wine of the Month (J. Lohr)

  1. Hubby says:

    Wow this site looks really good, I am so proud and the pics are a great touch!

    XOXO

  2. Pingback: Wine Love: Wakefield Cabernet Sauvignon 2008 | Peonies&Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

