Salad 101 à la Marie

I am the first to admit that I am no Martha Stewart or Julia Child but I do know how to make a great simple salad done right! Anyone can throw together salad & top it with bottled dressing but personally I think making your own dressing is far more nutritious & impressive 😉 In the spirit of the New Year and hopefully a healthy restart for a lot of people (including myself) here are my tips for a great simple salad & my 2 favorite everyday dressings!
SALAD: I always use organic mesclun/spring mix or red leaf lettuce and then I add radicchio for great color & added nutrients. Occasionally, I do enjoy a great Cesar or Greek salad but for an everyday side to my main meal I really love to keep it simple and let the freshness of the salad & the high quality ingredients in my dressing take the spotlight!

As soon as I get home from the market, I wash my salad and rinse it dry in my salad spinner (so important!) & keep it stored in the fridge. My biggest pet peeve is wilted leaves or wet lettuce so I always check the salad out to ensure it is dry and fresh & discard if necessary!

DRESSING #1: Dijon mustard, Balsamic Vinegar, Clove of Garlic (use a grater!), S&P, Great Quality EVOO (don’t skimp on the quality of your EVOO because it makes a difference! Splurge: Olio Santo or Steal: Bertolli Extra Virgin Olive Oil) & 1 Mason Jar

DRESSING #2: EVOO with lemon (either you buy great quality EVOO infused with lemon (I bought mine in Italy! Shown in the picture above) or use a great quality EVOO & squeeze a lemon into it), S&P & 1 Mason Jar
Mix all the ingredients in the mason jar & enjoy! Store in your fridge for up to 1 week. I add a few drops of EVOO every time I re-use it to freshen up the dressing.
Honestly, simple is best when you use the highest quality ingredients!
QUICK TIP: Place paper towel in the salad spinner so it absorbs any extra moisture, which will help prevent the salad from wilting. I do this every time & I really do notice that my salad lasts longer.
QUESTION: What is your favorite homemade salad dressing?
This entry was posted in Culinary Tips & Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salad 101 à la Marie

  1. Hubby says:

    My favorite homemade salad is the one you make 😉

  2. Pingback: Salad Inspiration: Greek-Lemon Oregano Dressing | Peonies&Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

