Husbands & BFFs As Sweet As Chocolate Chip Pecan Cookies

I had a long day 😦 But the 2 things that made it all better was seeing my beautiful BFF & her handsome little man & coming home to my husband who had a bottle of J.Lohr & a wine glass waiting on the kitchen counter & dinner cooking in the oven! I am a lucky girl! Since I have such beautiful & amazing people in my life I love to spread the love by baking for them when I can especially for my BFF & my husband who are both my biggest fans 😉

This is the only chocolate chip cookie recipe I ever make because they are perfect & always turn out great. I always make a double batch so that I can store & have them in my freezer at all times in case of an emergency (i.e. I need something sweet & nothing other than these cookies will satisfy) 😉

I don’t only selfishly keep them on hand for myself but also in case my brother calls & says “When are you making me those cookies?” or my husband politely puts a guilt trip on me by saying “Babe, you know what would be really great? A batch of your famous cookies!”. I happily oblige every single time 😉 I’ve been making the same recipe for years because they simply satisfy with their love & deliciousness. I honestly don’t think there is anything better than a freshly baked batch of chocolate chip cookies. I won’t confess to how many I eat when they come right out of the oven. A girl never tells those kind of secrets 😉
This is what I call baking for love!

The reason I pulled them out last night from the freezer is for a very special reason. My BFF, who I adore so much & who is a new mom to the most handsome little boy, just got sick with the flu & although cookies will not take the flu out of her they will hopefully make her feel better & I know she loves them so I decided to put together a “BFF Care Package” just for her to include freshly baked cookies, a few magazines because she never has time for herself anymore & some bags of my favorite tea, Mighty Leaf Chamomile Citrus 🙂 I dropped off the package to her today! Get better honey or else I’ll have to bake you something else! xox
My handsome husband may have gotten his own little batch too 😉 Thank you for the wine, my love!
RECIPE
(Adapted from Giada’s Family Dinners Cookbook-Chocolate Chip Cookies with Hazelnuts )
  • 1/2 Cup Old Fashioned Oats
  • 2 1/4 Cups All Purpose Flour
  • 1 Tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 Tsp Salt
  • 1 Cup (2 Sticks) Unsalted Butter, At Room Temperature
  • 1 Cup Light Brown Sugar, Packed
  • 1 Cup Granulated Sugar
  • 2 Large Eggs
  • 1 Tsp Pure Vanilla Extract
  • 4 Ounces Chipits Skor Toffee Bits (See Above)
  • 1 Cup Pecans/Walnuts/Hazelnuts, Toasted & Chopped
  • 1 12 ounce Bag Semisweet Chocolate Chips
Preheat oven to 325F & line a heavy baking sheet with parchment or Silpat (See Above) ♥ Finely chop the oats in a food processor or manually ♥ Transfer oats to a medium bowl & mix in the flour, baking powder, baking soda & salt ♥ Using an electric mixer, beat the butter & sugars until fluffy ♥ Beat in the eggs & vanilla ♥ Add the flour mixture & stir just until blended ♥ Stir in the toffee pieces, nuts & chocolate chips ♥ Drop the dough onto the prepared baking sheet by rounded tablespoons, spacing them 1 inch apart (do not flatten the dough) ♥ Bake until the cookies are golden (about 15 minutes) ♥ Cool the cookies completely on the baking sheet for 5 mins & then transfer to a cooling rack & cool completely ♥ Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Husbands & BFFs As Sweet As Chocolate Chip Pecan Cookies

  1. Martina Skrela says:

    I must try this recipe! 🙂

  2. Pingback: When Life Gets In The Way… | Peonies&Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

