February Wine of the Month (Brancaia Tre 2007)

Brancaia Tre 2007 (Red Wine from Tuscany, Italy), #10 Wine Spectator Top 100 Wines 2009

Critical Acclaim: “There’s wonderful intensity of fruit in this wine, with crushed raspberry and blackberry and hints of coffee and fresh flowers. Full-bodied, with velvety tannins and a long, soft-textured finish that shows loads of fruit. Sangiovese, Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon. Best after 2010.”
– Wine Spectator

Relaxing in front of my computer with my new wine magazines at the end of a long day!

I ♥ wine magazines & fresh flowers (my hubby bought these for me! What a guy!)
My love of wine makes me curious to learn about what makes a great wine receive critical acclaim. In the last LCBO Vintages issue, which showcased some great Vintages from Tuscany, the Brancaia Tre 2007 stood out because it was #10 on the Wine Spectator’s Top 100 Wines of 2009, which by anyone’s standards is considered a high compliment. That in itself is impressive but my decision to buy it & ultimately love it came from another great resource.
I need to confess up front that my wine learnings are not entirely self-taught & that I have a wonderful wine expert at my downtown LCBO location that I often visit & he always lets me know what’s new, what’s coming & what’s definitely worth trying! Claudio is my Vintages connoisseur, who insisted that Brancaia was a must try! It was released on Feb 5th and flew off the shelves with limited restock but no worries because of course I managed to purchase a few for myself & a few for my brother 😉
I am typically not a fan of wine blends and I love my big & bold Cabernet but this wine really blossomed in the glass and the richness of fruit was definitely expressed in the taste. The quality was fabulous & the value was also great so it was definitely worth it & therefore definitely P&C approved!

QUICK TIP: Learn about new wine releases so you can be in the know of what’s new & worth splurging on! Don’t forget to use the available resources at your local liquor stores/boutiques because they are knowledgeable & usually passionate about wine so they have a lot of insight to offer!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

