Simple Apple Cake

I love apple desserts of any kind! Truly!
This particular recipe has been on my baking wish list for a while so I finally decided to make it. Growing up, my mom used to make an amazing apple cake & ironically this recipe from the Smitten Kitchen website is called “Mom’s Apple Cake”.  I guess Moms just know how to truly bake a fabulous apple cake – they have that special touch.  I was really trying to recreate that amazingly moist & cinnamon tasting apple cake like my mom’s & this recipe was really great but the flavour did not satisfy my expectations or perhaps it just wasn’t my mom’s apple cake & nothing else would do.  It happens!
I will definitely have to make my mom’s recipe very soon but in the meantime, this is a beautiful cake to enjoy on the weekend with some girlfriends or bake it for a special friend or a grandparent or if you’re like me, it’s sinfully delicious with a cup of coffee for breakfast! Yes, I eat cake for breakfast sometimes 😉 Life would be boring otherwise!
Glorious Apple Cake Ingredients! So Simple yet so Divine!

Smitten Kitchen Site!

Final Creation In All Its Glory!

♥ RECIPE

(Adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

5 apples, (I used Ambrosia because I had them on hand) mixed with 1 tablespoon cinnamon & 5 tablespoons sugar
2 3/4 cups flour, sifted
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup vegetable oil
2 cups brown sugar
1/4 cup orange juice
2 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
4 eggs
1 cup walnuts, chopped (optional)
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a tube pan or a bundt pan, which is all I had & it worked out great. Peel, core and chop apples into chunks. Toss with cinnamon and sugar and set aside. ♥ Stir together flour, baking powder and salt in a large mixing bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk together oil, orange juice, sugar and vanilla. Mix wet ingredients into the dry ones, then add eggs, one at a time. Scrape down the bowl to ensure all ingredients are incorporated. ♥ Pour half of batter into prepared pan. Spread half of apples over it. Pour the remaining batter over the apples and arrange the remaining apples on top. Bake for about 1 1/2 hours, or until a tester comes out clean.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simple Apple Cake

  1. Hubby says:

    It may not have satisfied your expectations BUT my tummy thanks you 😉
    XOXO

Leave a Reply

