March Wine of the Month (Marqués de Casa Concha Cabernet Sauvignon 2008)

I think it’s pretty evident that I love Cabernet but more specifically, I love Cabernet from California.  One of my definite to do items on my “Life/Bucket List” is to visit Sonoma Valley, California and just bask in the abundance of beautiful wineries!  One day!

Since I am passionate about wine I want to experiment and try new ones when I can.  I obviously have my favorites that I always know will never disappoint but it’s always refreshing & exciting to try a new kind, especially when it comes with rave reviews.  My last visit to my favorite downtown LCBO resulted in me purchasing a Cabernet from Chile….surprising, I know!  Let me tell you that my wine expert, Claudio,  knows exactly what I love when it comes to choosing the perfect Cabernet for me and this beautifully bold vintage was wonderful and shame on me for second guessing whether or not I would like it just because it’s not from California.  I like to be a snob sometimes 😉  Lesson learned!

Marqués de Casa Concha Cabernet Sauvignon 2008

According to the LCBO Tasting Notes here’s what you can expect from this tantalizing Chilean Cabernet Sauvignon:
Rock-solid, with nicely integrated structure for the vintage, allowing the full-bodied core of loam, blackberry, fig sauce and raspberry to stretch out, with lingering mint and cocoa notes on the plush, fleshy finish. Drink now through 2011. Smart Buy. Score – 90. (James Molesworth, http://www.winespectator.com, Nov. 15, 2010)
My experience involved a definite lingering vanilla and cocoa note, which was just exquisite and it was such a bold and satisfyingly smooth wine and definitely not what I expected.  This bottle of wine doesn’t even need to be decanted.  California definitely has some competition with this fabulous wine.  Simply lush and definitely gets my approval!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

