Saturday Night Fun!

Spring is officially here so entertaining seems like the next best thing to do to celebrate a new season!  We’ve hibernated long enough so last night we decided to have some great friends over for appetizers and drinks – a perfect way to spend a Saturday night!
I secretly (or maybe not so secretly, especially if you read this blog often) love entertaining! Although our space is small it doesn’t mean it’s not possible to pull off an impressive soirée filled with great food, good drinks & fabulous guests!
Recently, I attended a Pottery Barn technique class that provided great tips on entertaining & how to throw the perfect party. The class was 45 minutes on a Sunday morning at a local Pottery Barn & it was a great way to get professional & customizable tips. One of the tips that I took away is to set up stations around your home. Obviously, being space challenged it’s not that easy to do but I managed to set up a drink & food station ahead of time, which was so helpful in creating an organized affair.
♥ Drink Station:
♥ Food Station & The Rest of the Party Details:
{Food}
Crudités & Dip in Shooter Glasses – What a great way to serve individual portions & avoid double dipping + it’s a fun way to display a traditional appetizer!
Sweet & Spicy Cocktail Nut Mix (Recipe below!) – I make this fresh the day I am going to serve them & they always seem to disappear by the end of the night.

Cheese, Cracker & Olive Platter – My staple appetizer for entertaining, which is elegant & a “must” in my opinion! The Brie & Raincoast Crisps were a hit again!
Assorted Gourmet Pizzas – There’s an Italian bakery I frequent too often because their food is so amazing & especially their pizza, which is uniquely delicious & offers great toppings instead of your traditional pepperoni & cheese. I make sure to have 1 meat option & 1 vegetarian option. Tonight I had a rapini & cheese pizza as well as potato pizza for the veggie (and carb) lovers & prosciutto & roasted peppers for the meat lovers!

Assorted Cupcakes- Dessert is my favorite part of any meal! My husband picked up an assortment of cupcakes at our favorite cupcake shop, Swirls – simply divine!

{Décor}
Hydrangeas – My beautiful mother bought these for me for Easter & I had to include them in the post because they are stunning!  Obviously my mom knows the way to my heart is always through beautiful flowers or her homemade crêpes 😉 Thank you to my sweet mama!

Votives/Candles – There’s nothing more inviting than a room with candles. I always make sure to have tealights on hand and fruit scented candles in my kitchen to get rid of any leftover scents from cooking. It’s a small detail that makes a big difference!
♥ Enjoy the rest of your Easter long weekend! 

P.S. As promised here’s the Sweet & Spicy Cocktail Nut Mix Recipe:

*2 cups Roasted/Unsalted Cashews + 1 Cup Marcona Almonds + 1 Cup Pecan Halves

*1 Tbsp Ground Cumin + 1/2 Cup Brown Sugar + 1 Tsp Cinnamon + 3/4 Tsp Cayenne Pepper + 1/2 Tsp Sea Salt + 1 Large Egg White

Preheat oven to 250°. Beat the egg white with 1 Tbsp water in a large bowl until foamy. Add the nuts, sugar, cumin, cayenne, cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp salt and mix well. Spread the mixture on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Bake until the nuts are mostly dry but still slightly sticky, about 40 mins.

Remove the nuts from the oven & stir. Reduce the temperature to 200°. Return the nuts to the oven and bake until crisp, about 30 minutes more. Stir to loosen nuts from the baking sheet; cool completely on the sheet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saturday Night Fun!

  1. Pingback: DIY: Holiday Take-Out Treat Boxes | Peonies&Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

