Salad Inspiration: Greek-Lemon Oregano Dressing

Eating your greens during the spring & summer when they are at their best is the perfect excuse to make a delicious salad as often as you want!  However, eating the same type of salad with the same dressing over & over again is a surefire way to sabotage your best efforts & I am totally someone who needs variety or I’ll easily get turned off.  My go to salad dressing is one of these but from time to time I NEED to change it up or I’ll lose my desire to eat my greens.  Don’t get stuck in a rut, put a little extra effort by trying something different & you’ll find that you actually enjoy eating all those beautiful leafy greens!  I still don’t know why we can’t just eat cupcakes everyday? 😉
One thing I love doing with salad & dressing, which saves time during the hectic workweek, is use mason jars to organize & portion out everything.  Mason jars are a staple in my kitchen for a lot of different things but they are absolutely fantastic for making & storing dressing (keep in the fridge for up to 1 week) & for portioning out servings + it looks really cute displayed in your fridge. Genius!
{No excuses! I have a mini herb garden on my balcony that has everything I need to make the perfect salad. Thanks Mom!}

{Mason Jars Rock!}

♥ RECIPE (Adapted from Olive Oil Vinaigrette/Oprah.com)
2 Cloves Garlic (Grated or Minced) ♥ 1/4 Cup Red Wine Vinegar ♥ 1/4 Cup Fresh Lemon Juice ♥ 1/4 Cup Fresh Oregano (Chopped) or 1 Tbsp Dried Oregano ♥ 1 1/2 Tsp Dijon Mustard ♥ 3/4 Tsp Salt ♥ 3/4 Tsp Freshly Ground Black Pepper ♥ 1 Cup EVOO ( I use 1/2 cup less than the original recipe calls for)
Place all ingredients into the mason jar & shake it up really well à la Jamie Oliver.  Store in your fridge & dress your greens with it, baby!  Oh, and don’t forget to top it with some feta!
Note:  You can obviously use this dressing to make a traditional Greek salad or just throw it together with mixed organic greens (arugula, spinach, romaine etc.) & cherry tomatoes. Whatever your palette desires 🙂
Speaking of the unbelievable master chef, Jamie Oliver, you must try this very sexy salad recipe when figs are in season (in late summer): The Easiest-Sexiest Salad in the World
Beautiful! Can’t Wait to Try It!
Question: What’s your favorite salad dressing? I am looking to get inspired 😉
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

