Fresh Wednesdays & Obikà Mozzarella Bar

More Farmer’s Market love!  Ever since I started working downtown Toronto, I’ve been going to Fresh Wednesdays at Nathan Phillips Square as often as I can between the months of June & October because as you know I have a tiny, little obsession with all things Farmer’s Market related 😉  Today, was my first trip this year & as always, I ended up with beautiful & delicious treats.

♥ In my Farmer’s Market Bag
{Bouquet of Peonies, Tomatoes, Olive Cilantro Bread, Asparagus, Spicy Beef & Turkey Pepperoni, Mini Zucchini (OMG! I was almost as excited as I would be if they were zucchini flowers!), Pecan Butter Tarts, 1 Apple from a cute farmer who handed one to me ;)}

{Fresh Mozzarella di Bufala with a Bouquet of Peonies – it’s all I need in my life!}
Obika Mozzarella Bar

The New York Times: “Mozzarella’s Moment. Obikà is Rome’s and probably history’s first mozzarella bar.”

{Mozzarella with all the fixings – Prosciutto Crudo di Parma, Mortadella, Grilled Vegetables, Arugula & Cherry Tomatoes, Assortment of Pestos & Black Olives etc.}
This is absolutely genius!  I was elated as I was reading the Globe & Mail article that highlighted Toronto’s new Mozzarella Bar – what a beautiful concept!  The first Mozzarella Bar originated in Rome & Toronto is currently the only Canadian operation in a global chain of 17 – how perfect for me!  Lately with all the beautiful produce you can find at local Farmer’s Markets all I can think about is the most unforgettable Caprese salad with mozzarella di bufala that I ate in a restaurant in Capri that overlooked the intoxicating & breathtaking Gulf of Naples.  I still yearn for that rich, creamy taste that I know could never be replicated again unless I went back to that exact place & ate it again! I often reminisce about that beautiful culinary experience & now that I have a Mozzarella Bar at my fingertips with mozzarella that comes direct from producers in the Paestum and the Agro Pontino areas (Italy) I know that I may possibly be able to taste that little piece of heaven all over again…just maybe!
So you know that I went & bought some, right?  Of course I did, how could I possibly resist! It was unbelievable & almost as perfect as Capri.  This is how I enjoyed it…

{Tomates & Olive Cilantro Bread from the Farmer’s Market, Mozzarella di Bufala from Obika & Fresh Basil from my Herb Garden dressed with Olio Santo EVOO, Sea Salt & Ground Pepper & a drizzle of Balsamic Vinegar Glaze!  I could eat this every day!}
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

