Recipe Inspiration: Salsa Verde

Branzino is one of my favorite fish to eat!  Last week, I went for another trip to the St. Lawrence Market & picked up a fresh whole Branzino from one of the many fish mongers that bring in the freshest seafood from around the world – pretty amazing! Along with it I made a beautiful & refreshing salsa verde, which is one recipe that you need to learn how to make because it’s so easy & so versatile {it’s especially amazing on fish & chicken & best to make in the summertime when fresh herbs are in abundance!}
My recipe inspiration comes from Gwyneth’s cookbook, which I’ve featured on this blog many, many times before 😉 I roasted the Branzino the same as before but this time I cut slits on each side of the fish and stuffed them with the herbs & thin slices of lemon {yum!}.  I would have to say this is a perfectly elegant dish for summertime entertaining when dining al fresco with friends & family.  Round it out with Fried Smashed Potatoes with Lemon {this is a must make recipe!} and a crisp white wine. One whole Branzino should be good enough to serve 2!

 Salsa Verde Recipe {Makes a generous 1/2 cup}
  • 6 Olive Oil Packed Spanish Anchovies
  • 1 Tsp Dijon Mustard
  • 1 Tbsp Red Wine Vinegar
  • 1/4 Cup Chopped Fresh Parsley
  • 1/3 Cup Chopped Fresh Basil
  • 1/3 Cup Chopped Fresh Cilantro
  • 1/2 Cup Chopped Fresh Chives
  • 1/4 Cup EVOO 
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper
Put the anchovies in a bowl & cut into small pieces with a knife & fork.  Stir in the mustard & vinegar.  Add the herbs, slowly stream in the olive oil, and season with pepper.  Drizzle over the fish before serving & enjoy! {Note: Best to make this fresh on the day you are using it.}
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recipe Inspiration: Salsa Verde

  1. Hubby says:

    It was like Frank’s Red Hot Sauce… I put that Sh*t on everything 😉
    It was awesome!

  2. Sarah Rosa says:

    Does this kind of fish have a strong fishy taste? I am looking for different fish to try but I am a little nervous because I don’t really enjoy fish. I do really like Sole! I tried Tilapia too but I wasn’t really crazy about it. I would like to try this Salsa Verde recipe next time I attempt fish 🙂

    • Hi Sarah!
      Branzino/Branzini {Mediterranean Seabass} is most popular with people who are not big on fishy tasting seafood since it has a delicately mild & sweet flavour to it! You must try it either roasted or grilled & I promise you will love it. The Salsa Verde will enhance the dish beautifully. Let me know how it turns out for you 😉

      P.S. I also love Sole but don’t care much for Tilapia either!

Leave a Reply

