Roasted Beets with Ginger and Balsamic Vinegar

Sundays are my farmer’s market runs, where I look for inspiration for meals for the week ahead! {I am going to have serious withdrawals when the farmer’s market closes in a few weeks :(}.  Since beets are a cool season crop, they are in abundance at the farmer’s market right now.  I ♥ beets & absolutely love roasting them, so I knew that I had a date with my oven this afternoon to make these sweet vegetables, as a side dish for dinner!
There are various methods you can use to cook beets {i.e. boil or even grill} but my preferred method is roasting, as with any other vegetable.  Roasting always brings out the sweetness & caramelized taste and texture to vegetables – this is how I bribe my husband to eat them!
{My Farmer’s Market Basket: Honey Crisp Apples {My absolute favorite!}, Peaches & Cream Corn, Beets & Gourmet Tomatoes}
{Before Roasting Dressed In EVOO, Balsamic Vinegar, Ginger & S&P}

{After Roasting Glazed with Aged Balsamic Vinegar On a Plate I bought in Santorini! Love!}

Ingredients
1 1/2 pounds medium-size fresh beets {approx 5-6} ♥ 1 tablespoon EVOO ♥ 1/2 tablespoon minced fresh ginger ♥ 1 1/2 tablespoon balsamic vinegar & aged balsamic vinegar ♥ S&P {to taste}
Directions
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
Remove the tops and the roots of the beets and peel each one with a vegetable peeler. Cut the beets in 1 1/2-inch chunks. Place the cut beets on a baking sheet and toss with the olive oil, balsamic vinegar, ginger, salt, and pepper. Roast for 35 to 40 minutes, turning once or twice with a spatula, until the beets are tender.
Remove from the oven and serve them the P&C way: Cut the beets into slices, plate them on a pretty platter & glaze them with aged balsamic vinegar {has a thicker consistency & sweeter taste than balsamic vinegar} & enjoy!
♥ Enjoy the rest of your Sunday!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

