Warm Winter Lentil Soup

Lately, with the bitterly frigid winter weather gusting into us, all I’ve been really craving is a steamy and luxurious bowl of soup. Last week, I was seriously coveting lentil soup and since I had everything except for the lentils (my fridge was pretty stocked up from Christmas!) it was the perfect reason to create a pot of warm winter lentil soup. There’s something so comforting about a big batch of warm soup simmering in your French oven on a crisp and chilly winter day {love it!}.
Here’s the recipe that I affectionately recreated from my kitchen bible, Joy of Cooking {no cook should be without this beautiful cookbook in their kitchen. Seriously, Julia Child wrote the foreword for it when it was redone in 2004…enough said!}. I hope you make this for your loved ones and pair it with warm and crusty bread {I paired my bowl of soup with Petit Four Bakery‘s parmesan and black pepper foccacia—divine!}

♥ Warm Winter Lentil Soup
3 Tbsp Olive Oil * 3 Medium Carrots {Peeled & Diced} * 3 Medium Celery Stalks {Diced} * 1 Large Onion {Diced} * 3 Garlic Cloves {Minced} * 2 Ounces Pancetta {Diced}/Optional * 2 Cups Dried Lentils {Rinsed & Picked Over} * 8 Cups Water * One 14.5 Ounce Can Diced Tomatoes, Drained * 1 Tsp Dried Thyme {I used 1 Tbsp Fresh Thyme} * 1 1/2 Tsp Balsamic Vinegar {I added 1 Tbsp for added flavour} * S&P {To your liking!}
Heat olive oil in a French oven or large soup pot * Sauté carrots, celery, onion, garlic and pancetta until vegetables are tender {5-10 mins}. Stir in water, lentils, tomatoes, and thyme. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer 30-45 minutes. Stir in balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Warm Winter Lentil Soup

  1. Martina Skrela says:

    I was going to ask you for this recipe!! LOVE this soup 🙂 Thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

